Bank of Colorado in Yuma has continued its long tradition of honoring teachers, recognizing Victoria Campbell as the 2017 Bank of Colorado Teacher of the Year.

Campbell was presented with a cash award and a plaque during a brief ceremony at the bank located in downtown Yuma, late last week.

Campbell, currently a third-grade teacher at Morris Elementary School, has taught in the Yuma schools since 1989, teaching at many grade levels through the years.

The letter nominating her for the award reads in part: “Mrs. Campbell is a thoughtful and purposeful educator, but she

Victoria Campbell was honored as the Bank of Colorado Teacher of the Year, last week. She is pictured above (third from left) with Yuma-1 Superintendent Dianna Chrisman, MES Principal Keri Chapman and Bank of Colorado Yuma Branch President Dan Seedorf. (Courtesy Photo)

also demonstrates a contagious excitement for what she does. She regularly collaborates and shares her expertise with colleagues, and it’s during those conversations that her true passion shines. She serves as a mentor for new teachers, she serves on our building’s leadership teams, and she works diligently to serve the needs of her students each day.

Mrs. Campbell is naturally a quite and reflective individual, and that thoughtful reflection is a big part of what makes her so effective. Her classroom is run with efficiency, and through her example, students are taught to be life-long learners. They are, of course, taught reading, writing, math, science, and social studies, but students in Mrs. Campbell’s class also learn about being a leader. They learn what it means to think critically, what it means to show kindness, and what it means to persevere.

Mrs. Campbell inspires greatness in her students and in her colleagues. She challenges those around her to solve problems and work hard. I am grateful for that challenge; it’s made me a better educator. I believe she influences students in that same way — with a heartfelt and encouraging challenge to be the very best version of themselves.”

The nominating letter was written by Principal Keri Chapman.