Yuma School District-1 will have a school board election in November.

There are five candidates for four seats. However, one is uncontested as Duane Brown is the only candidate that is seeking the seat carrying a two-year term. (That seat will be up for a regular four-year term in 2020.). There are three seats up for four-terms, with four candidates in the running for those seats — Candy Gilliland, and incumbents Dan Ross, Lindsey Galles and Kim Langley.

The deadline entering the school board race was last Friday.

A drawing was held Tuesday afternoon at the district office to determine the order in which the names will appear on the ballot. District election official Angela Weathers reported the following order after the drawing — Lindsey L. Seward-Galles, Daniel H. Ross, Candy Gilliland, and Kimberly Langley. Brown will have his own spot on the ballot

The seat currently held by Thomas Holtorf is the only one not up for election. Current board member Marc Baucke is not seeking another term.

Ross is seeking one last four-year term, after which he will be term-limited out. The same for Langley. Galles is seeking her first four-year term, after being appointed two years ago to fill a vacancy.

Yuma-1 board members are limited to two four-year terms, but can end up serving more than eight years if first appointed to fill vacancy, as is the case with Ross and Galles.

Brown also will be eligible to serve two more four-terms by first seeking the seat with the two-year term (currently filled by Galles). He would have to run for his first four-year term in the 2020 election.

Look for more on the candidates as the election approaches.

No elections for area districts

It appears Otis R-3 will not require a school board election. There are two seats with expiring terms, but Aaron Metzler was the only to enter as a candidate by the Friday deadline. Current board members Erin Kendrick and Dan Smith both decided not to seek another term. Metzler will join the Otis board in November, and the board will have to appoint someone to the other opening.

Liberty J-4 has two candidates for two seats, incumbents Mike Holtman and Shawn Bellows.

Arickaree R-2 has three candidates for three seats up for election: Jason Page, at-large; Lori McCaffrey, District C, and; Brian Axtell, District B. All currently are on the board.

Lone Star No. 101 has two candidates for two seats up for election, incumbents Jason Glenn and Justin Kuntz.

Those elections will be cancelled, and the candidates “elected by acclimation” to new terms beginning in November, unless any write-in candidates surfaced by Tuesday afternoon’s deadline.