The Yuma Volunteer Fire Department won the 3-person overall championship at the district races, held last Saturday in Akron. Yuma was second in the Option Team Event, third in Modified Changeover, second in Inline and fourth in Speedy Race to win the overall championship. Also, David Aagesen took first in the one person Coupling.

Courtesy Photo

Pictured  (clockwise top left) with their trophies are Gary Trute, Jud Hall, Cameron Josh and Aagesen.

YVFD did not field a 6-person racing team this year, and will not be defending their state championships later this month at the state firefighter races in Estes Park. The department has won multiple state titles in the 6-person and 3-person categories over the past two decades.